Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Norma K Hemming Award 2016 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2016 Norma K Hemming Award has been announced.

The award is presented by the Australian Science Fiction Foundation for a work of speculative fiction published in Australia or written by an Australian citizen that explores the themes of race, gender, sexuality, class or disability.

The shortlisted books are:

  • The Fire Sermon (Francesca Haig, HarperVoyager)
  • Formaldehyde (Jane Rawson, Seizure)
  • The Hush (Skye Melki-Wegner, Random House)
  • The Orchid Nursery (Louise Katz, Lacuna Publishing)
  • The Pyramids of London (Andrea K Höst, self-published)
  • Theophilus Grey and the Demon Thief (Catherine Jinks, A&U)
  • Welcome to Orphancorp (Marlee Jane Ward, Seizure).

The winner will be announced at the Australian National Science Fiction Convention: Contact2016 in Brisbane on 27 March.

Last year’s winner was Paddy O’Reilly for The Wonders (Affirm Press), with the judges also awarding an honourable mention to runner-up The Female Factory (Lisa L Hannett & Angela Slatter, Twelfth Planet).

For more information, visit the website here.



Category: Local news