Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘Overland’ Poetry Prize 2015 winners announced

Ella O’Keefe has won the 2015 Overland Judith Wright Poetry Prize for new and emerging poets, worth $6000, for her poem ‘alkaway’.

The first runner-up was Omar Sakr’s ‘Not so wild’ and the second runner-up was Jakob Siguras’ ‘Jet lag song nets’. Sakr and Siguras win $2000 and $1000 respectively.

All three poems will be published in the first issue of Overland for 2016.

The poems were judged ‘blind’ by Overland’s retiring poetry editor Peter Minter and new poetry editor Toby Fitch. The winning poems were chosen from a shortlist of eight.

The Overland Judith Wright Poetry Prize was established in 2007 to ‘foster poetry by writers who have not yet published a book of poems under their own name’. For more information about the winning poems, visit the Overland website here.



Category: Local news