Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Storylines National Writers’ Awards 2016 shortlists announced

The Storylines Children’s Literature Trust of New Zealand has announced the shortlists for its three national writers’ awards.

The shortlists are:

Joy Cowley Award for picture book text

  • ‘The Boy who could Fly’ by Nikki Cockburn
  • ‘Little Brown Mouse’ by Hayley Bowman
  • ‘Mysterious Day in the Middle of May’ by Belinda O’Keefe
  • ‘No Mess and No Noise’ by Monique Reymer
  • ‘The Rare and Endangered Archew’ by Sarah Grundy

Tom Fitzgibbon Award for a junior novel manuscript

  • ‘Mud Boy’ by Melanie Dixon
  • ‘Tilly and the Trophy Tryouts’ by Christine Walker
  • ‘Tui Street Tales’ by Anne Kayes

Tessa Duder Award for a YA novel manuscript

  • ‘Grow’ by Amy Martin
  • ‘The Knowledge Keeper’ by Jessica Pawley
  • ‘The Sin Chronicles: New Blood’ by Gareth Ward
  • ‘Wild Cards’ by Fifi Colston.

The winners will be announced at the Storylines National Awards Day and Margaret Mahy Medal presentation, to be held at the University of Auckland on 3 April.

The winners will each receive a cash prize of $1500. In addition, the winners of the Joy Cowley and Tom Fitzgibbon awards will receive an offer of publication by Scholastic New Zealand.

For more information about the awards, click here.



Category: Junior Local news