Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ernest Scott Prize 2016 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2016 Ernest Scott Prize for history, presented by the University of Melbourne’s Faculty of Arts, has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Entanglements of Empire (Tony Ballantyne, Auckland University Press)
  • The Eighties: The Decade that Transformed Australia (Frank Bongiorno, Black Inc.)
  • Memory and Migration in the Shadow of War (Joy Damousi, CUP)
  • Australia’s Boldest Experiment: War and Reconstruction in the 1940s (Stuart Macintyre, NewSouth Publishing).

The Ernest Scott Prize is worth $13,000 and is awarded annually to a work based on original research that contributes to the history of Australia or New Zealand or to the history of colonisation. In 2015, the prize was jointly awarded to The Europeans in Australia: Volume 3: Nation (UNSW Press) and Tom Brooking’s Richard Seddon, King of God’s Own: The Life and Times of New Zealand’s Longest-Serving Prime Minister (Penguin).

The winner of this year’s prize will be announced on 26 April at a ceremony at the University of Melbourne.

For more information about the shortlist, click here.


Category: Local news