Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Storylines National Writers’ Awards 2016 winners announced

The Storylines Children’s Literature Trust of New Zealand has announced the 2016 winners of its three national writers’ awards .

The winning entries in each category are:

Joy Cowley Award for picture book text

  •  ‘The Wondrous Archew’ by Sarah Grundy

Tom Fitzgibbon Award for a junior novel manuscript

  •  ‘Tui Street Tales’ by Anne Kayes

Tessa Duder Award for a YA novel manuscript

  •  ‘The Sin Chronicles: New Blood’ by Gareth Ward.

The winners were announced at the Storylines National Awards Day and Margaret Mahy Medal presentation, held at the University of Auckland on 3 April.

The winners each received a cash prize of $1500. In addition, the winners of the Joy Cowley and Tom Fitzgibbon awards will receive an offer of publication by Scholastic New Zealand. Walker Books Australia, the sponsor of the Tessa Duder award, has also extended an offer of publication to Ward for his winning manuscript.

For more information about the awards, click here.


Category: Junior Local news