Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NSW Premier’s Literary Awards 2016 shortlists announced

The shortlists for this year’s New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards have been announced, including a new biennial prize for Indigenous writers.

The shortlisted titles in each of the categories are:

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction ($40,000)

  • Ghost River (Tony Birch, UQP)
  • Locust Girl: A Lovesong (Merlinda Bobis, Spinifex Press)
  • Clade (James Bradley, Hamish Hamilton)
  • The Life of Houses (Lisa Gorton, Giramondo)
  • A Guide to Berlin (Gail Jones, Vintage)
  • The World without Us (Mireille Juchau, Bloomsbury)

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing ($5000)

  • Fever of Animals (Miles Allinson, Scribe)
  • An Astronaut’s Life (Sonja Dechian, Text)
  • Relativity (Antonia Hayes, Viking)
  • In the Quiet (Eliza Henry-Jones, HarperCollins)
  • When There’s Nowhere Else to Run (Murray Middleton, A&U)
  • Hot Little Hands (Abigail Ulman, Hamish Hamilton)

Douglas Stewart Prize for Nonfiction ($40,000)

  • The Nashos’ War: Australia’s National Servicemen and Vietnam (Mark Dapin, Viking)
  • One Life: My Mother’s Story (Kate Grenville, Text)
  • Across the Seas: Australia’s Response to Refugees: A History (Klaus Neumann, Black Inc.)
  • Reckoning: A Memoir (Magda Szubanski, Text)
  • Island Home (Tim Winton, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Small Acts of Disappearance (Fiona Wright, Giramondo)

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry ($30,000)

  • Brush (Joanne Burns, Giramondo)
  • Eelahroo (Long Ago) Nyah (Looking) Möbö-Möbö (Future) (Lionel G Fogarty, Vagabond Press)
  • The Hazards (Sarah Holland-Batt, UQP)
  • Fainting with Freedom (Ouyang Yu, Five Islands Press)
  • Terra Bravura (Meredith Wattison, Puncher & Wattmann)
  • Not Fox Nor Axe (Chloe Wilson, Hunter Publishers)

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature ($30,000)

  • Tea and Sugar Christmas (Jane Jolly & Robert Ingpen, NLA)
  • A Single Stone (Meg McKinlay, Walker Books)
  • Molly and Pim and the Millions of Stars (Martine Murray, Text)
  • The Greatest Gatsby: A Visual Book of Grammar (Tohby Riddle, Viking)
  • Teacup (Rebecca Young & Matt Ottley, Scholastic)
  • Flight (Nadia Wheatley & Armin Greder, Windy Hollow Books)

Ethel Turner Prize for Young Adult’s Literature ($30,000)

  • Battlesaurus: Rampage at Waterloo (Brian Falkner, Pan Macmillan)
  • Freedom Ride (Sue Lawson, Black Dog Books)
  • Laurinda (Alice Pung, Black Inc.)
  • Welcome to Orphancorp (Marlee Jane Ward, Seizure)
  • The Peony Lantern (Frances Watts, ABC Books)
  • The Guy, the Girl, the Artist and His Ex (Gabrielle Williams, A&U)

Multicultural NSW Award ($20,000)

  • Shining: The Story of a Lucky Man (Abdi Aden & Robert Hillman, HarperCollins)
  • The Other Side of the World (Stephanie Bishop, Hachette)
  • The Principal, Episode 1 (Kristen Dunphy, Essential Media and Entertainment)
  • Good Muslim Boy (Osamah Sami, Hardie Grant Books)
  • We Are Here (Cat Thao Nguyen, A&U)
  • Vera: My Story (Vera Wasowski & Robert Hillman, Black Inc.)

Indigenous Writer’s Prize ($30,000)

  • Ghost River (Tony Birch, UQP)
  • Inside My Mother (Alice Cobby Eckermann, Giramondo)
  • Dirty Words (Natalie Harkin, Cordite Publishing)
  • Dark Emu (Bruce Pascoe, Magabala)
  • Heat and Light (Ellen van Neerven, UQP)
  • Not Just Black and White (Lesley Williams & Tammy Williams, UQP)

Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting ($30,000)

  • Boys Will Be Boys (Melissa Bubnic, Sydney Theatre Company)
  • Broken (Mary Anne Butler, Currency Press)
  • The Bleeding Tree (Angus Cerini, Currency Press in association with Griffin Theatre Company)
  • Battle of Waterloo (Kylie Coolwell, Sydney Theatre Company)
  • Hello, Goodbye & Happy Birthday (Roslyn Oades, Malthouse Theatre)

Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting ($30,000)

  • Last Cab to Darwin (Reg Cribb & Jeremy Sims, Last Cab Productions)
  • Deadline Gallipoli, Episode 1 (Jacquelin Perske, Matchbox Pictures)
  • The Secret River, Part 2 (Jan Sardi & Mac Gudgeon, Ruby Entertainment)
  • Deadline Gallipoli, Episode 4: ‘The Letter’ (Cate Shortland, Matchbox Pictures)
  • House of Hancock (Katherine Thomson, Cordell Jigsaw Zapruder).

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced on 16 May as part of the Sydney Writers’ Festival.

Voting also opens today for the People’s Choice Award, which will be chosen by the public from the shortlist for the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction. To vote, visit the State Library of NSW website here.

In order to be eligible for this year’s awards, all works must have been first published, performed, broadcast or screened between 1 October 2014 and 30 September 2015. This period does not apply to the Indigenous Writer’s Prize, which is biennial.



Category: Local news