Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Entries open for 2016 PMLAs; judges revealed

Entries have opened and the judging panels have been revealed for the ninth annual Prime Minister’s Literary Awards (PMLAs).

Awards will again be presented in six categories: fiction, nonfiction, YA, children’s fiction, poetry and Australian history. The judging panels are unchanged from last year with the exception of children’s literature professor Belle Alderman, who will not sit on the children’s and YA panel, and Sydney Institute executive director and Weekend Australian columnist Gerard Henderson, who returns after taking a leave of absence as chair of the nonfiction and history panel in 2015.

In 2014 Black Inc. director Morrie Schwartz and publisher Chris Feik said Henderson’s inclusion as chair of the panel ‘seriously damaged’ the integrity of the awards, citing concerns over Henderson’s ‘history of incessant and obsessive criticism of leading Australian writers and commentators with whom he disagrees politically’.

For more information about the awards, click here.



Category: Local news