Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ABIA People’s Choice Awards winners announced

The winners of the 2016 Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) reader’s choice awards have been announced.

The winners in each category are:

General fiction book of the year

  • Close Your Eyes (Michael Robotham, Sphere)

Literary fiction book of the year

  • The Natural Way of Things (Charlotte Wood, A&U)

General nonfiction book of the year

  • The Dismissal (Paul Kelly & Troy Bramston, Viking)

Biography of the year

  • Flesh Wounds (Richard Glover, ABC Books)

Older children (8 to 14 years)

  • Illuminae (Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff, A&U)

Younger children (0 to 8 years)

  • The 65-Storey Treehouse (Andy Griffiths, illus by Terry Denton, Pan)

Illustrated book of the year

  • Cornersmith (Alex Elliott-Howery & James Grant, Murdoch Books)

International book of the year

  • The Story of the Lost Child (Elena Ferrante, Text)

Matt Richell Award for new writer of the year

  • The Anti-Cool Girl (Rosie Waterland, Fourth Estate)

Small publishers’ children’s book of the year

  • Kookoo Kookaburra (Gregg Dreise, Magabala)

Small publishers’ adult book of the year

  • Body Lengths (Leisel Jones, Black Inc.)

The ABIA winners in each of the categories, chosen by a panel of industry experts, will be announced on 19 May at a ceremony at the Art Gallery of NSW in Sydney. To view the shortlists, click here.

The ABIAs celebrate the ‘best books of the year, well published’. For more information, visit the ABIA website here.


Category: Local news