Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

CBCA Awards 2016 shortlists announced

The shortlists for this year’s Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each of the categories are:

Book of the Year: Older Readers

  • Cloudwish (Fiona Wood, Macmillan)
  • Freedom Ride (Sue Lawson, Black Dog Books)
  • Inbetween Days (Vikki Wakefield, Text)
  • The Flywheel (Erin Gough, Hardie Grant Egmont)
  • The Pause (John Larkin, Random House)
  • A Single Stone (Meg McKinlay, Walker Books)

Book of the Year: Younger Readers

  • Molly and Pim and the Millions of Stars (Martine Murray, Text)
  • Run, Pip, Run (J C Jones, A&U)
  • Shadows of the Master (Emily Rodda, Omnibus)
  • Sister Heart (Sally Morgan, Fremantle Press)
  • Soon (Morris Gleitzman, Viking)
  • The Cleo Stories: A Friend and a Pet (Libby Gleeson & Freya Blackwood, A&U)

Book of the Year: Early Childhood

  • Mr Huff (Anna Walker, Viking)
  • My Dog Bigsy (Alison Lester, Viking)
  • Ollie and the Wind (Ghosh Ronojoy, Random House)
  • Perfect (Danny Parker, illus by Freya Blackwood, Little Hare)
  • Piranhas Don’t Eat Bananas (Aaron Blabey, Scholastic)
  • The Cow Tripped over the Moon (Tony Wilson, illus by Laura Wood, Scholastic)

Picture Book of the Year

  • And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda (Eric Bogle, illus by Bruce Whatley, A&U)
  • Flight (Nadia Wheatley, illus by Armin Greder, Windy Hollow)
  • My Dead Bunny (Sigi Cohen, illus by James Foley, Walker Books)
  • One Step at a Time (Jane Jolly, illus by Sally Heinrich, MidnightSun)
  • Ride, Ricardo, Ride! (Phil Cummings, illus by Shane Devries, Omnibus)
  • Suri’s Wall (Lucy Estela, illus by Matt Ottley, Viking)

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books

  • Ancestry: Stories of Multicultural Anzacs (Robyn Siers & Carlie Walker, Department of Veterans’ Affairs)
  • Lennie the Legend: Solo to Sydney by Pony (Stephanie Owen Reeder, NLA Publishing)
  • Phasmid: Saving the Lord Howe Island Stick Insect (Rohan Cleave, illus by Coral Tulloch, CSIRO Publishing)
  • The Amazing True Story of How Babies Are Made (Fiona Katauskas, ABC Books)
  • The White Mouse: The Story of Nancy Wake (Peter Gouldthorpe, Omnibus)
  • We Are the Rebels: The Men and Women Who Made Eureka (Clare Wright, Text)

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced on 19 August ahead of Children’s Book Week on 20-26 August.

For more information about the CBCA Awards, click here.


Category: Junior Local news Special Bulletin news