Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Lambda literary awards 2016 winners announced

The winners of the 2016 Lambda literary awards, known as the ‘Lammys’, have been announced. The awards celebrate excellence in lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) writing published in the previous year, with winners announced across 26 categories, including Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender general fiction; debut fiction; nonfiction; poetry; memoir/biography; mystery, romance and erotica; anthology; drama; graphic novels; and children’s/YA. The Trustee Award for Excellence in Literature was presented to Hilton Als, theatre critic, New Yorker writer and author of White Girls (McSweeney’s Publishing). The Lambda Pioneer Award went to poet Eileen Myles, whose poetry collections include Maxfield Parrish, Skies (both David R Godine Publishers), Not Me and The Importance of Being Iceland (both MIT Press). For the full list of winners, visit the Lambda website here.



Category: Awards International news