Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Australian Historical Association 2016 awards shortlists announced

The Australian Historical Association (AHA) has announced the shortlists for the 2016 Magarey Medal for Biography, the Kay Daniels Award and the W K Hancock Prize.

The Magarey Medal for Biography shortlist is:

  • Warrior: A Legendary Leaders Dramatic Life and Violent Death on the Colonial Frontier (Libby Connors, A&U)
  • One Life: My Mother’s Story (Kate Grenville, Text)
  • Thea Astley: Inventing Her Own Weather (Karen Lamb, UQP)
  • Mannix (Brenda Niall, Text).

Awarded biennially, the Magarey Medal for Biography is open to women who have published a biography on an Australian subject within the past two years.

The Kay Daniels Award shortlist is:

  • Under the Colony’s Eye: Gentlemen and Convicts on Cockatoo Island 1839-1869 (Sue Castrique, Anchor Books)
  • The Luck of the Irish: How a Shipload of Convicts Survived the Wreck of the Hive to Make a New Life in Australia (Babette Smith, A&U)
  • Toil and Trouble from Maitland to Moreton Bay: John Eales’ Convicts (Brian Walsh, Paterson Historical Society).

The biennial Kay Daniels Award recognises outstanding original research that focuses on Australian convict history and heritage.

The W K Hancock Prize shortlist is:

  • The Company and The Shogun: The Dutch Encounter with Tokugawa Japan (Adam Clulow, Columbia University Press)
  • The Fascist Effect: Japan and Italy, 1915-1952 (Reto Hofmann, Cornell University Press)
  • Running Out? Water in Western Australia (Ruth Morgan, UWA Publishing).

The W K Hancock Prize recognises Australian scholars who have published a first book in any field of history.

The winners of all three awards will be announced on 7 July.

For more information, visit the AHA website here.


Category: Awards Local news