Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

RWA awards 2016 finalists announced

The finalists for the 2016 Romance Writers of Australia (RWA) Romantic Book of the Year awards, known as the ‘RUBYs’, have been announced.

The finalists in each category are:

Long romance

  • Rise (Karina Bliss, self-published)
  • The Spring Bride (Anne Gracie, Michael Joseph)
  • Kakadu Sunset (Annie Seaton, Pan Macmillan)
  • Lethal in Love (Michelle Somers, Random House)

Romantic elements

  • A Dangerous Arrangement (Lee Christine, Escape)
  • The Patterson Girls (Rachael Johns, Harlequin)
  • Pay the Piper (Mary Brock Jones, self-published)
  • Between the Vines (Tricia Stringer, Harlequin)

Short sexy

  • Tribal Law (Shannon Curtis, Australian Romance Readers Association)
  • The Wedding Bargain (Yvonne Lindsay, Harlequin)
  • Pretend It’s Love (Stefanie London, Entangled)
  • Never Surrender (Rosie Miles, Entangled)
  • Seducing His Enemy’s Daughter (Annie West, Mills & Boon)

Short sweet

  • You for Christmas (Madeline Ash, Tule Publishing)
  • Still Married to Her Ex! (Lucy Clark, Mills & Boon)
  • Home to Bindarra Creek (Juanita Kees, self-published)
  • The Secret Son (Joan Kilby, Tule Publishing)
  • Reach for the Stars (Kerrie Paterson, self-published)


  • Mistletoe Maverick (Shannon Curtis, self-published)
  • Silk & Scars (Cassandra Dean, Decadent Publishing)
  • Pursued by the Rogue (Kelly Hunter, Tule Publishing)
  • What a Bachelor Needs (Kelly Hunter, Tule Publishing).

The winners will be announced at the RWA awards dinner in Adelaide on 20 August. For more information, click here.



Category: Awards Local news