Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

PANZ Book Design Awards 2016 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the Publishers Association of New Zealand (PANZ) Book Design Awards have been announced.

The titles shortlisted in the best designed cover category are:

  • 101 Works of Art (Ken Hall et al, Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetu), designed by Aaron Beehre
  • Unstuck in Time (Kalee Jackson, Te Tuhi), designed by Kalee Jackson
  • Kupapa (Ron Crosby, Penguin Random House), designed by Alan Deare
  • James K Baxter: Complete Prose (James K Baxter, Victoria University Press), designed by Spencer Levine and Fergus Barrowman
  • Rugby: A New Zealand History (Ron Palenski, Auckland University Press), designed by Scott Crickett and Katrina Duncan
  • Coast, Country, Neighbourhood, City (Isthmus & Michael Barrett, Six Point Press), designed by Arch MacDonnell and Sarah Gladwell.

The awards also include categories for best children’s book, best illustrated book, best non-illustrated book, best educational book, best typography and best cookbook. The shortlists can be found online here.

The winners of the 2016 PANZ Book Design Awards will be announced at an awards ceremony in Auckland on 28 July. One of the seven category winners will receive the Gerard Reid Award for Best Book. The PANZ Young Designer of the Year will also be announced at the awards ceremony.


Category: Awards Local news