Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ALS Gold Medal 2016 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2016 Australian Literature Society (ALS) Gold Medal has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Six Bedrooms (Tegan Bennett Daylight, Vintage)
  • Clade (James Bradley, Penguin)
  • Second Half First (Drusilla Modjeska, Knopf)
  • Mannix (Brenda Niall, Text).

The winner will be announced at the Association for the Study of Australian Literature (ASAL) conference on 6 July.

The ALS Gold Medal is presented annually by the ASAL for a ‘work of outstanding literary merit’ published in the previous calendar year. Last year’s winner was Jennifer Maiden’s poetry collection Drones and Phantoms (Giramondo).


Category: Local news