Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Davitt Awards 2016 shortlists announced

Sisters in Crime has announced the shortlists for the 2016 Davitt Awards for the best crime books by Australian women.

The shortlisted titles in each category are:

Adult novels

  • Medea’s Curse: Natalie King, Forensic Psychiatrist (Anne Buist, Text)
  • Fall (Candice Fox, Bantam)
  • Give the Devil His Due (Sulari Gentill, Pantera Press)
  • Storm Clouds (Bronwyn Parry, Hachette)
  • Time to Run (J M Peace,  Macmillan)
  • Resurrection Bay (Emma Viskic, Echo)

Young adult novels

  • In the Skin of a Monster (Kathryn Barker, A&U)
  • Risk (Fleur Ferris, Random House)
  • Every Move (Ellie Marney, A&U)
  • Stay with Me (Maureen McCarthy, A&U)

Children’s Novels

  • Verity Sparks and the Scarlet Hand (Susan Green, Walker)
  • Theophilus Grey and the Demon Thief (Catherine Jinks, A&U)
  • Friday Barnes 2: Under Suspicion (R A Spratt,  Random House)


  • Black Widow (Carol Baxter, A&U)
  • Why Did They Do It? (Cheryl Critchley and Helen McGrathMacmillan)
  • The Sting (Kate Kyriacou, Echo)
  • Wildman (Alecia Simmonds, Affirm Press)
  • Behind Closed Doors (Sue Smetherst, S&S)
  • You’re Just Too Good to Be True (Sofija Stefanovic, Penguin)


  • In the Skin of a Monster (Kathryn Barker, A&U)
  • Medea’s Curse: Natalie King, Forensic Psychiatrist (Anne Buist, Text)
  • Please Don’t Leave Me Here (Tania Chandler, Scribe)
  • Double Madness (Caroline de Costa, Margaret River Press)
  • Risk (Fleur Ferris, Random House)
  • Good Money (J M Green, Scribe)
  • Time to Run (J M Peace, Macmillan)
  • The Lost Swimmer (Ann Turner, S&S)
  • Resurrection Bay (Emma Viskic, Echo)

The shortlists were chosen from longlists announced in June. This year’s judging panel comprises librarian Jacqui Horwood; booksellers Deborah Crabtree and Deb Force; forensic scientists Maggie Baron and Debbie Stephens; and crime reader Michaela Lobb.

Online bookseller Booktopia this year came on board as sponsors of the award.

The winners will be announced at an event in Melbourne on 27 August, presented by author Liane Moriarty. Winners will also be announced for two additional categories: best debut book and readers’ choice, which is voted by the members of Sisters in Crime Australia.


Category: Awards Local news