Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ned Kelly 2016 shortlists announced

The Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) has announced the shortlists for this year’s Ned Kelly Awards for crime writing.

The shortlisted works in each category are:

Best novel

  • R&R (Mark Dapin, Viking)
  • The Heat (Garry Disher, Text)
  • Fall (Candice Fox, Bantam)
  • Rain Dogs (Adrian McKinty, A&U)
  • Ash Island (Barry Maitland, Text)
  • Before it Breaks (Dave Warner, Fremantle Press)

Best first novel

  • Please Don’t Leave Me Here (Tania Chandler, Scribe)
  • Good Money (J M Green, Scribe)
  • Amplify (Mark Hollands, self-published)
  • Skin Deep (Gary Kemble, Echo)
  • Four Days (Iain Ryan, Broken River Books)
  • Resurrection Bay (Emma Viskic, Echo)

Best true crime

  • Certain Admissions (Gideon Haigh, Viking)
  • The Sting (Kate Kyriacou, Echo)
  • A Murder Without Motive (Martin McKenzie-Murray, Scribe)
  • Killing Love (Rebecca Poulson, S&S)
  • Kidnapped (Mark Tedeschi, S&S)

The awards will be presented at a Melbourne Writers Festival event on 28 August. The ACWA will also honour Carmel Shute with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the ceremony, for her work as founder and co-convener of Sisters in Crime Australia as part of her 25 years’ work ‘supporting and nurturing Australian women crime writers’.

For more information, visit the ACWA website here.


Category: Local news