Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Wright wins Alice Literary Award

The Society of Women Writers have awarded historian and author Clare Wright the biennial Alice Literary Award for ‘distinguished and long-term contribution to literature by an Australian woman’.

Wright, whose books include The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka and Beyond the Ladies Lounge (both Text), was presented with the award at an event in Launceston on 8 August.

The winner of the Alice Literary Award is selected from a shortlist of finalists from each state, who are judged on how much their work has inspired women’s literature.

The previous winner of the award was Libby Hathorn in 2014.


Category: Local news