Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘Overland’ Victoria University Short Story Prize 2016 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2016 Overland Victoria University Short Story Prize for New and Emerging Writers has been announced.

The shortlisted stories are:

  • ‘The Way to Amalthea’ by Michalia Arathimos
  • ‘Satellite ride’ by Robyn Black
  • ‘Corona’ by Hop Dac
  • ‘The Eviction’ by Caitlin Doyle-Markwick
  • ‘Cold Springs’ by Laura Elvery
  • A Place Called Doubtful’ by Zoe Meager
  • ‘Fundamental/isms’ by Kylie Moore-Gilbert
  • ‘Harpoon Ditch’ by Adam Narnst
  • ‘Pigeon’ by Emily Riches
  • ‘Baby Grand’ by Simon Rowe
  • ‘The Acorn of Sadness’ by Ashleigh Synnott
  • ‘Broad Hatchet’ by Julia Tulloh Harper
  • ‘All Hollows’ by Ben Walter
  • ‘Unlabelled Bottles’ by David Wright.

The winner and runners-up for the $8000 prize will be announced in the next two weeks, ahead of their publication in the next Overland issue in September.

This year’s prize is judged by Overland editor Jacinda Woodhead, Overland fiction editor Jennifer Mills and Victoria University’s Alison Whan.

For more information about the finalists, visit the Overland website here.


Category: Local news