Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

CBCA Awards 2016 winners announced

The winners of this year’s Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year Awards have been announced.

The winning titles in each of the categories are:

Older Readers


  • Cloudwish (Fiona Wood, Macmillan)

Honour books

  • A Single Stone (Meg McKinlay, Walker Books)
  • Inbetween Days (Vikki Wakefield, Text)

Younger Readers


  • Soon (Morris Gleitzman, Viking)

Honour books  

  • Shadows of the Master (Emily Rodda, Omnibus)
  • Sister Heart (Sally Morgan, Fremantle Press)

Early Childhood


  • Mr Huff (Anna Walker, Viking)

Honour books

  • Perfect (Danny Parker, illus by Freya Blackwood, Little Hare)
  • The Cow Tripped over the Moon (Tony Wilson, illus by Laura Wood, Scholastic)

Picture Book of the Year


  • Flight (Nadia Wheatley, illus by Armin Greder, Windy Hollow)

Honour books

  • One Step at a Time (Jane Jolly, illus by Sally Heinrich, MidnightSun)
  • Ride, Ricardo, Ride! (Phil Cummings, illus by Shane Devries, Omnibus)

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books


  • Lennie the Legend: Solo to Sydney by Pony (Stephanie Owen Reeder, NLA Publishing)

Honour books

  • Ancestry: Stories of Multicultural Anzacs (Robyn Siers & Carlie Walker, Department of Veterans’ Affairs)
  • Phasmid: Saving the Lord Howe Island Stick Insect (Rohan Cleave, illus by Coral Tulloch, CSIRO Publishing)

Crichton Award for New Illustrators

  • The Underwater Fancy-Dress Parade (Davina Bell, illus by Allison Colpoys, Scribe)

To see the shortlisted titles, click here.

This year’s Children’s Book Week runs from 20 to 26 August with the theme ‘Australia! Story Country’. For more information about the CBCA Awards and Children’s Book Week, visit the CBCA website here.


Category: Awards Junior Local news Special Bulletin news