Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Colin Roderick Award 2016 shortlist announced; prize money doubles to $20,000

The finalists for the Colin Roderick Award and H T Priestley Memorial Medal, administered by the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies at James Cook University, have been announced.

The seven shortlisted titles are:

  • The End of Seeing (Christie Collins, Seizure)
  • Modern Love (Leslie Harding & Kendrah Morgan, MUP)
  • A Guide to Berlin (Gail Jones, Vintage)
  • Crow’s Breath (John Kinsella, Transit Lounge)
  • Mannix (Brenda Niall, Text)
  • Island Home (Tim Winton, Hamish Hamilton).

The award and medal are presented to the title the judges determine is ‘the best book that is published in Australia in the previous calendar year, which deals with any aspect of Australian life’.

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the award, the Foundation has doubled the prize money to $20,000.

The winner will be announced in Townsville in late October. For more information, visit the website here.


Category: Local news