Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Hachette, EWF announce 2016 Richell Prize shortlist

Hachette Australia and the Emerging Writers’ Festival (EWF) have announced the shortlist for the 2016 Richell Prize for emerging writers.

The five shortlisted writers and their works are:

  • ‘The Illusion of Islands’ by Andrea Baldwin
  •  ‘Dark Tides’ by Emma Doolan
  •  ‘The Rabbits’ by Sophie Overett
  • ‘The Clinking’ by Susie Greenhill
  • ‘Gardens of Stone’ by Susie Thatcher.

A longlist, chosen from 430 entries, was announced in August.

Hachette launched the Richell Prize last year with EWF and the Guardian Australia. The award is in memory of former Hachette CEO Matt Richell, who died in a surfing accident in 2014.

Applicants were required to submit the first three chapters and a synopsis of their proposed work of adult fiction or narrative nonfiction, with the winner to receive $10,000 and mentoring from a Hachette publisher to help develop the work to publication.

The judges are author and Richell’s widow Hannah Richell, EWF director Michaela McGuire, Guardian Australia senior editor Lucy Clark, bookseller Karen Ferris and Hachette publisher Vanessa Radnidge.

The winner will be announced in Sydney on 5 October.


Category: Local news