Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NSW Premier’s History Awards 2016 winners announced

The winners of the 2016 New South Wales Premier’s History Awards have been announced.

The winners in each category are:

Australian History Prize ($15,000)

  • Australia’s Boldest Experiment: War and Reconstruction in the 1940s (Stuart Macintyre, NewSouth Publishing)

General History Prize ($15,000)

  • Illicit Love: Interracial Sex and Marriage in the United States and Australia (Ann McGrath, University of Nebraska Press)

NSW Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)

  • Fractured Families: Life on the Margins in Colonial New South Wales (Tanya Evans, NewSouth Publishing)

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)

  • One Thousand Hills (James Roy & Noël Zihabamwe, Omnibus)

Multimedia History Prize ($15,000)

  • Afghanistan: Inside Australia’s War (Victoria Midwinter Pitt & Alan Erson, Essential Media & Entertainment).

The winners were chosen from shortlists announced in August. Judges considered 172 entries across the five categories. To be eligible for the awards, books must have been first published between 1 April 2015 and 31 March 2016.

The winners were announced at the State Library of NSW on 2 September to mark the beginning of NSW History Week.

For more information about the awards, visit the State Library of NSW website here.


Category: Awards Local news