Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Waverley Library Award 2016 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2016 Waverley Library Award for Literature, known as ‘the Nib’, has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • Talking to My Country (Stan Grant, HarperCollins)
  • Santamaria, A Most Unusual Man (Gerard Henderson, MUP)
  • A Long Time Coming: Essays on Old Age (Melanie Joosten, Scribe)
  • Who Bombed the Hilton? (Rachel Landers, NewSouth)
  • Daffodil (Helen O’Neill, HarperCollins)
  • The Ice Age: A Journey into Crystal-Meth Addiction (Luke Williams, Scribe).

The winner will be announced on 23 November.

The winner will receive a cash price of $20,000 and each of the shortlisted authors will receive the Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize of $1000. The winner of the People’s Choice Award will receive a further $1000. Voting for the People’s Choice Award is now open.

The Waverley Library Award was established in 2002 to recognise the role of research in fiction and nonfiction. Last year’s prize was awarded to Erik Jensen for his biography of artist Adam Cullen, Acute Misfortune (Black Inc.).

For more information about the award, visit the Waverley Library website here.


Category: Local news