Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NZ PM’s Awards for Literary Achievement 2016 announced

Atholl Anderson, Marilyn Duckworth and David Eggleton are the recipients of 2016 New Zealand Prime Minister’s Awards for Literary Achievement, in recognition of their ‘outstanding contribution to New Zealand literature’.

The writers were chosen by the Arts Council of Creative New Zealand from a pool of writers selected by a panel and public nominations. Anderson is recognised for nonfiction, Duckworth for fiction and Eggleton for poetry. Each writer receives NZ$60,000 (A$56,600).

Arts Council chair Dick Grant said the awards differ from other prizes by recognising a writer’s body of work rather than a single piece of literature. ‘The contribution of nominees to the literary community over time is also taken into consideration,’ said Grant.

The awards will be presented at a ceremony at Premier House in Wellington on 12 October. For more information, click here.


Category: Awards Local news