Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Walkley Book Award 2016 longlist announced

The 2016 Walkley Book Award longlist has been announced.

The longlisted titles are:

  • Phillip Schuler: The Remarkable Life of One of Australia’s Greatest War Correspondents (Mark Baker, A&U)
  • The Squad (Yoni Bashan, HarperCollins)
  • The Killing Season (Sarah Ferguson & Patricia Drum, MUP)
  • Offshore: Behind the Wire on Manus and Nauru (Madeline Gleeson, NewSouth)
  • Talking to My Country (Stan Grant, HarperCollins)
  • Our Man Elsewhere: In Search of Alan Moorehead (Thornton McCamish, Black Inc.)
  • The Art of Rivalry (Sebastian Smee, Text)
  • The Ice Age (Luke Williams, Scribe)
  • Brett Whiteley: Art, Life and the Other Thing (Ashleigh Wilson, Text).

A shortlist will be announced ahead of the awards presentation in Brisbane on 2 December.

The Walkley Book Award recognises excellence in Australian nonfiction literature and long-form journalism. For more information, click here.



Category: Local news