Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Nine Australian authors and illustrators nominated for 2017 Astrid Lindgren Award

Nine Australian authors and illustrators have been nominated for the 2017 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award.

Randa Abdel-Fattah, Ursula Dubosarsky, Libby Gleeson, Morris Gleitzman, Gus Gordon, Leigh Hobbs, Alison Lester, Kirsty Murray and Margaret Wild are among the 226 candidates from 60 countries nominated for the award. It’s the fourth year in a row Dubosarsky and Gleitzman have been nominated and the third year for Lester.

No New Zealand authors or illustrators were nominated.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award is the largest international children’s and young adult literature award in the world and carries with it a cash prize of five million krona (A$737,480).

The winner of the 2017 award will be announced on 4 April in Stockholm to coincide with the 2017 Bologna Children’s Book Fair.

Two Australian authors have previously won the Astrid Lindgren Award: author and illustrator Shaun Tan in 2011 and author Sonya Hartnett in 2008.

A complete list of nominees is available online here.


Category: Junior Local news