Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

YABBAs 2016 winners announced

The winners of the 2016 Young Australians Best Book Awards (YABBAs), Victoria’s children’s choice awards, have been announced.

The winning titles are:

Picture storybooks

  • Pig the Fibber (Aaron Blabey, Scholastic)

Fiction for younger readers

  • The Bad Guys: Episode One (Aaron Blabey, Scholastic)

Fiction for older readers

  • The 65-Storey Treehouse (Andy Griffiths & Terry Denton, Pan)

Fiction for years 7-9

  • Soon (Morris Gleitzman, Viking).

Felice Arena and Garry Lyon’s Specky Magee and the Best of Oz (Puffin) was inducted into the YABBA Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame award is presented to books that have been shortlisted five times in 10 years without winning a YABBA, as recognition ‘for the special place it occupies in the hearts and minds of Victorian children’.

The awards were presented at St Thomas More Primary School in Melbourne on 26 October.

The winners were selected from the Reading & Enjoying Australian Literature (REAL) Awards shortlist, which also acts as a shortlist for the children’s choice awards in the Australian Capital Territory (COOL Awards), New South Wales (KOALAs) and the Northern Territory (KROC Awards).

For more information about the YABBAs, visit the website here.


Category: Junior Local news