Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Inaugural ‘Hope Prize’ winners announced; S&S to publish collection

The winners of the inaugural Hope Prize for short stories, administered by the Brotherhood of St Laurence, has been announced.

Catherine Moffat won the $5000 first prize for her story ‘Better Homes and Gardens’; Eloise Young won the $3000 second prize for ‘555 to Reservoir’; Katherine Hayes won the $2000 third prize for ‘Queen St’; and Eleanor George was awarded the $500 young writer prize for ‘Colours’.

The following authors each receive $500 as highly commended entries:

  • Laura McPhee-Browne for ‘The Surprise’
  • Marlish Glorie for ‘Machine Man’
  • David Porter for ‘We are Looking at Hun Chen’
  • Heidi Catherine for ‘The Extra Piece’
  • Christine Fontana for ‘The Common Good’
  • Yvonne Popplewell for ‘The Flatscreen’.

The winning stories were chosen by a judging panel comprising Cate Blanchett, Kate Grenville and Quentin Bryce, with assistance from bookseller and award sponsor Readings.

Simon & Schuster Australia will publish a collection of the 10 winning and highly commended stories, Hope: An Anthology, on 1 November. Proceeds from the sale of the book will be donated to the Hope Prize, and the book will feature in Readings’ Summer Reading Guide in mid-November.

The prize was launched in 2015 with the aim of ‘exploring hope and resilience in the face of poverty and disadvantage’. For more information, click here.


Category: Local news