Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2016 winners announced

The winners of the 2016 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards were announced on 8 November in Canberra.

The winners in each category are:

Fiction (joint winners)

  • The Life of Houses (Lisa Gorton, Giramondo)
  • The Natural Way of Things (Charlotte Wood, A&U)

Nonfiction (joint winners)

  • On Stalin’s Team: The years of Living Dangerously in Soviet Politics (Sheila Fitzpatrick, MUP)
  • Thea Astley: Inventing her Own Weather (Karen Lamb, UQP)


  • The Hazards (Sarah Holland-Batt, UQP)

Australian history (joint winners)

  • The Story of Australia’s People: The Rise and Fall of Ancient Australia (Geoffrey Blainey, Penguin)
  • Let My People Go: The Untold Story of Australia and the Soviet Jews 1959-89 (Sam Lipski & Suzanne D Rutland, Hybrid)

Young adult

  • A Single Stone (Meg McKinlay, Walker Books)


  • Sister Heart (Sally Morgan, Fremantle Press).

The winners each receive $80,000 tax-free, which is shared in the instance of joint winners.

This year’s Prime Minister’s Literary Awards were open to books published in 2015. The winners were chosen by a panel of judges announced earlier this year, with the Prime Minister making the final decision.

To see the shortlists, click here. For more information about the awards and to read the judges’ comments, click here.



Category: Awards Local news