Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Catton, Horrocks among NZ Art Awards winners

The 2016 New Zealand Art Awards winners have been announced, with a number of writers among those honoured.

Writer Eleanor Catton and cartoonist and graphic novelist Dylan Horrocks are among the six recipients of the Arts New Zealand’s Laureate Award, which is awarded to an artist ‘with prominence and outstanding potential for future growth’, recognising ‘a moment in the artist’s career that will allow them to have their next great success’. Each recipient receives NZ$50,000 (A$47,070).

Poet and writer Kate Camp was awarded the 2016 Katherine Mansfield Menton Fellowship, which is presented each year to a writer to enable them to live for up to six months in Menton, France.

The winners will be honoured at a ceremony in Auckland on 23 November. For more information, click here.


Category: Awards Local news