Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Australian, NZ authors on 2017 International Dublin longlist

Ten books by Australian authors and six by New Zealand authors have been longlisted for the 2017 International DUBLIN Literary Award.

Books by Australian authors on the longlist are:

  • Clade (James Bradley, Hamish Hamilton)
  • Forever Young (Steven Carroll, HarperCollins)
  • The Heat (Garry Disher, Text)
  • Hope Farm (Peggy Frew, Scribe)
  • Day Boy (Trent Jamieson, Text)
  • The World without Us (Mireille Juchau, Bloomsbury)
  • The Promise Seed (Cass Moriarty, UQP)
  • Salt Creek (Lucy Treloar, Picdaor)
  • The Natural Way of Things (Charlotte Wood, A&U)
  • The Secret Chord (Geraldine Brooks, Hachette).

Books by New Zealand authors on the longlist are:

  • Coming Rain (Stephen Daisley, Text)
  • Chappy (Patricia Grace, Penguin)
  • The Antipodeans (Greg McGee, Upstart Press)
  • The Legend of Winstone Blackhat (Tanya Moir, Vintage)
  • The Chimes (Anna Smaill, Sceptre)
  • Inside the Black Horse (Ray Berard, Mary Egan Publishing).

Libraries from 109 cities around the world nominated 147 books for the longlist, including titles by 43 American, 23 British, 14 Canadian, 10 Australian, seven Irish, six New Zealand and four Dutch authors. The longlist includes 43 titles translated into English and 30 debuts.

The book that received the most nominations was Kate Atkinson’s A God in Ruins (Black Swan), which was chosen by nine libraries in Australia, Canada, England, Greece, New Zealand, Norway, Scotland and Spain.

The shortlist will be announced on 11 April and the winner on 21 June 2017.

The International Dublin Literary Award, worth €100,000 (A$144,229), is the most valuable prize for a novel published in English. The 2016 award was presented to US author Akhil Sharma for his novel Family Life (Faber).

For more information about the award, visit the website here.


Category: Local news