Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:  

Scarlet Stiletto Short Story Award 2016 winners announced

True crime author Ruth Wykes has won the 2016 Scarlet Stiletto Short Story Award, presented at Sisters in Crime’s 25th anniversary convention in Melbourne on 19 November.

Wykes was awarded the $1500 first prize for her story ‘Stone Cold’, about ‘a small town torn apart when a seven-year-old boy goes missing’.

Jacqui Horwood won the one-off Silver Stiletto Award, which marks the anniversary and was only open to previous winners to enter, for her story ‘Diving for Pearls’. Horwood won the Scarlet Stiletto Trophy in 2003.

The others winners on the evening were:

  • Liz Filleul, who won second prize overall ($1000) and the inaugural Mystery with History Award ($750) for ‘Foul Play’, a story about Australia’s first ever women’s football match, held in Perth in 1917 to raise money for the ANZAC’s comfort funds.
  • Jenny Flackford, who won third prize ($500) and the Domestic Award ($750) for ‘Cooking up a Murder’, a story set in Ancient Greece.
  • Catherine Moffatt won the Body in the Library Prize ($1000) for ‘The Team from Information Services’.
  • Brisbane State High School student Ellen Vickerman won the Body in the Library Award runner-up prize ($500) and the Young Writer’s Award for serial-murderer story ‘Where Yellow Ends (Starring Eddie & me)’.
  • Melbourne Girls Grammar student Jenny Chen won the Young Writers Award runner-up prize for ‘Child’s Play’.
  • Katie Mills won the Financial Crime Award ($500) for ‘A Good Night’s Sleep’.
  • Sandi Wallace won the Romantic Suspense Award ($500) for ‘Busted’.
  • Fin J Ross won the Environmental Crime Story Award ($500) for ‘Four Hundred Hectares of Nothing’, ‘a fracking murder mystery set on Queensland’s Darling Downs’.
  • Leisl Egan won the Cross Genre Award ($400) for ‘He was Hers’, a story about ‘an old woman on a self-imposed exile who is confronted by the results of her creation that destroyed humankind’.

The judges decided not to award the Liz Navratil Award for Best Story with a Disabled Protagonist ($400) this year.

Sisters in Crime co-founder Carmel Shute was also presented with a ‘Doing Time’ Silver Stiletto trophy.

For more information, click here.


Category: Local news