Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2017 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards for 2017 have been announced.

The shortlisted books in each category are:


  • Between a Wolf and a Dog (Georgia Blain, Scribe)
  • The Healing Party (Micheline Lee, Black Inc.)
  • Wood Green (Sean Rabin, Giramondo)
  • Waiting (Philip Salom, Puncher & Wattmann)
  • The Rules of Backyard Cricket (Jock Serong, Text)
  • The Love of a Bad Man (Laura Elizabeth Woollett, Scribe)


  • Songs of a War Boy (Deng Adut & Ben Mckelvey, Hachette)
  • The Hate Race (Maxine Beneba Clarke, Hachette)
  • The Killing Season Uncut (Sarah Ferguson & Patricia Drum, MUP)
  • Offshore: Behind the Wire on Manus and Nauru (Madeline Gleeson, NewSouth)
  • Position Doubtful (Kim Mahood, Scribe)
  • The Fighter (Arnold Zable, Text)


  • Carrying the World (Maxine Beneba Clarke, Hachette)
  • Painting Red Orchids (Eileen Chong, Pitt Street Poetry)
  • Bull Days (Tina Giannoukos, Australian Scholarly Publishing)

Young adult

  • When Michael Met Mina (Randa Abdel-Fattah, Pan)
  • The Bone Sparrow (Zana Fraillon, Lothian)
  • The Other Side of Summer (Emily Gale, Random House)


  • Girl Shut Your Mouth (Gita Bezard, Black Swan State Theatre Company)
  • Trigger Warning (Zoë Coombs Marr, Melbourne International Comedy Festival)
  • The Drover’s Wife (Leah Purcell, Currency Press).

Several books were also highly commended. They are:


  • An Isolated Incident (Emily McGuire, Picador)
  • Our Magic Hour (Jennifer Down, Text)
  • After the Carnage (Tara June Winch, UQP)

Young adult

  • Freedom Swimmer (Wai Chim, A&U)
  • Frankie (Shivaun Plozza, Penguin).

The winners will be announced on 31 January at a ceremony at the Queen Victoria Gardens in Melbourne.

Each category winner receives $25,000 and is eligible for the $100,000 Victorian Prize for Literature, which is also open to the winners of this year’s Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Indigenous Writing and Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript.

The winner of the People’s Choice Award will receive $2000.

For more information and to vote for the People’s Choice Award, visit the Wheeler Centre website here.


Category: Awards Local news