Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

FutureBook Award 2016 winners announced

In the UK, the Bookseller has announced the winners of this year’s FutureBook Innovation Awards. Pan Macmillan digital communications director Sara Lloyd was named Digital Leader of Year because of ‘the sheer breadth and depth of the impact she’s making on the publishing world’ and ‘inspiring industry-wide debate about the complex and challenging issues she deals with every day’. Penguin Random House won the consumer platform of the year award for its consumer website. The judges said of the website, ‘from the podcasts to the Penguin Flipper, [it] surprises and delights with its imagination, design and original content that makes you want to keep exploring’. Penguin Random House also won best use of digital in a marketing/publicity campaign for its ‘Mount Improbable’ website and campaign in support of Richard Dawkins. Other winners include Bloomsbury, which won best reference and education platform for Bloomsbury Fashion Central; Orion, which won adult digital book of the year for Belgravia (Julian Fellowes); and Nosy Crow, which won the children’s category for Goldilocks and Little Bear (Nosy Crow). The BookTech award was shared by Kadaxis, which uses data science to improve book discovery across the publishing value chain, and Story Tourist, ‘a kind of Pokémon Go for stories’, that allows readers to experience books at the locations where the action takes place. To see the full list of winners, visit the Bookseller here.


Category: International news