Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

New award to recognise editorial excellence

A new award for editorial excellence has been launched by Editors Queensland, a branch of the Institute of Professional Editors (IPEd).

The Rosanne Fitzgibbon Editorial Award, or ‘Rosie’, honours the memory of Rosanne Fitzgibbon (1947-2012), a distinguished editor of literary fiction and nonfiction and the recipient of the inaugural Beatrice Davis Editorial Fellowship in 1992.

The award will recognise an editor for a particular published work of fiction or nonfiction or ‘another substantial body of work’. Nominations can come from the editor, author or publisher of the work, and must include endorsement from all three.

The award is only open to editors who are members of IPEd or the Canberra Society of Editors.

The Rosie will be awarded biennially, with the inaugural award to be presented at the IPEd National Editors Conference in Brisbane in September 2017.

The winner will receive a cash prize of $4000.

For more information, click here.


Category: Local news