Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

PEN America Literary Awards 2017 winners announced

In the US, Pen America has announced the winners of several categories in its 2017 Literary Awards.

Among the award winners are:

PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction

  • Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City (Matthew Desmond, Crown)

PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award 

  • Patient H.M.: A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family Secrets (Luke Dittrich, Random House)

PEN Open Book Award (for an exceptional work of literature by an author of colour)

  • What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours (Helen Oyeyemi, Riverhead).

To view other category award winners, click here.

The winners of the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award, the PEN/Nabokov Award for Achievement in International Literature, the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction, and the PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay will be announced at the 2017 PEN America Literary Awards Ceremony on 27 March.


Category: Awards International news