Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Man Booker International Prize 2017 longlist announced

The longlist for the 2017 Man Booker International Prize has been announced.

The longlisted titles are:

  • Compass (Mathias Enard, trans by Charlotte Mandell, Fitzcarraldo Editions)
  • Swallowing Mercury (Wioletta Greg, trans by Eliza Marciniak, Portobello Books)
  • A Horse Walks into a Bar (David Grossman, trans by Jessica Cohen, Jonathan Cape)
  • War and Turpentine (Stefan Hertmans, trans by David McKay, Harvill Secker)
  • The Unseen (Roy Jacobsen, trans by Don Bartlett & Don Shaw, MacLehose)
  • The Traitor’s Niche (Ismail Kadare, trans by John Hodgson, Harvill Secker)
  • Fish Have No Feet (Jon Kalman Stefansson, trans by Phil Roughton, MacLehose)
  • The Explosion Chronicles (Yan Lianke, trans by Carlos Rojas, Chatto & Windus)
  • Black Moses (Alain Mabanckou, trans by Helen Stevenson, Serpents Tail)
  • Bricks and Mortar (Clemens Meyer, trans by Katy Derbyshire, Fitzcarraldo Editions)
  • Mirror, Shoulder, Signal (Dorthe Nors, trans by Misha Hoekstra, Pushkin Press)
  • Judas (Amos Oz, trans by Nicholas de Lange, Chatto & Windus)
  • Fever Dream (Samanta Schweblin, trans by Megan McDowell, Oneworld).

The Man Booker International Prize is awarded to a book translated into English. Prior to 2016, the prize was awarded biennially to a body of work.

The £50,000 (A$79,375) prize will be shared equally between the winning writer and translator, and each shortlisted author and translator will also receive £1000 (A$1594).

The shortlist will be announced on 20 April and the winner on 14 June.

For more information about the prize, click here.


Category: International news