Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘The Dry’ wins Book of the Year at Indie Book Awards 2017

Jane Harper’s The Dry has been named Book of the Year at the 2017 Indie Book Awards, presented at the Leading Edge Books Conference in Surfers Paradise on 20 March.

The winning titles in each category are:


  • The Last Painting of Sara de Vos (Dominic Smith, A&U)


  • Everywhere I Look (Helen Garner, Text)

Debut fiction

  • The Dry (Jane Harper, Macmillan)

Young adult

  • Words in Deep Blue (Cath Crowley, Pan)


  • Circle (Jeannie Baker, Walker Books).

Harper said it was ‘an honour to have been selected for this award by people who know readers so well’. ‘Independent booksellers have championed the novel from the very start and thousands of readers have discovered The Dry thanks to their passionate handselling and personal recommendations,’ she said.

The Indie Book Awards are chosen by independent booksellers to reward and promote excellence in Australian writing. The overall winner receives $1000 and the category winners each receive $1000. The winners were chosen from a shortlist announced in December.

For more information about the awards, visit the website here.


Category: Awards Local news