Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ernest Scott Prize 2017 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2017 Ernest Scott Prize for history, presented by the University of Melbourne’s Faculty of Arts, has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • A History of New Zealand Women (Barbara Brookes, Bridget Williams Books)
  • Settler Colonialism and (Re)conciliation: Frontier Violence, Affective Performances, and Imaginative Refoundings (Penelope Edmonds, Palgrave Macmillan)
  • The Art of Time Travel: Historians and their Craft (Tom Griffiths, Black Inc.)
  • Paved with Good Intentions: Terra Nullius, Aboriginal Land Rights and Settler-Colonial Law (Hannah Robert, Halstead Press).

The Ernest Scott Prize is worth $13,000 and is awarded annually to a work based on original research that contributes to the history of Australia or New Zealand or to the history of colonisation.

The winner of this year’s prize will be announced on 4 April at a ceremony at the University of Melbourne.

For more information about the shortlist, click here.


Category: Local news