Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

McKinty wins 2017 Edgar Award

Melbourne-based Irish author Adrian McKinty has won the 2017 Edgar Allan Poe Award for best paperback original for his novel Rain Dogs (Serpent’s Tail).

Rain Dogs is the fifth book in McKinty’s crime-fiction series set in in 1980s Northern Ireland and starring detective sergeant Sean Duffy.

In a blog post, McKinty thanked his publishers and ‘the crime fiction community in Ireland, Australia, the UK, America and across the world’. ‘I want to single out three bookstores too: The Poisoned Pen in Scottsdale, No Alibis in Belfast and Pages & Pages in Sydney, who always treated me like a bestseller and a winner when that clearly wasn’t the case,’ he wrote.

Several other authors also picked up Edgar Awards. They include:

  • Best novel: Before the Fall (Noah Hawley, Hodder)
  • Best first novel by an American author: Under the Harrow (Flynn Berry, Weidenfeld & Nicolson)
  • Best fact crime: The Wicked Boy: The Mystery of a Victorian Child Murderer (Kate Summerscale, Bloomsbury)
  • Best critical/biographical: Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life (Ruth Franklin, Norton)
  • Best juvenile: OCDaniel (Wesley King, S&S)
  • Best young adult: Girl in the Blue Coat (Monica Hesse, Macmillan).

The Edgar Allan Poe Awards (the Edgars) honour ‘the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction and television’ published or produced in the US in 2016. The winners were announced on 27 April in New York. For more information, click here.


Category: Local news