Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

EWF Monash Writing Prize 2017 shortlist announced

Fifteen writers have been shortlisted for the 2017 Emerging Writers’ Festival’s (EWF) Monash Undergraduate Prize for Creative Writing.

The shortlisted stories and their authors are:

  • ‘Femina’ by Aimee-Jane Anderson-O’Connor
  • ‘Unmoored’ by Shayna Andrews
  • ‘Glass’ by Lauren Burridge
  • ‘The Space Cadet’ by Samantha Dent
  • ‘Swansong’ by Travis Franks
  • ‘The Ship of Theseus’ by Fi Fraser
  • ‘The  Lady Who Walks’ by Ann Jackson
  • ‘Shooting Star’ by Jamie Marina Lau
  • ‘Girl, Thunderstruck’ by Bonnie Muhling
  • ‘Midas’ by Melody Reynauld
  • ‘Embers’ by Cordelia Rice
  • ‘Scar Tissue’ by Nicole Stephens
  • ‘The Climb’ by Neroli Thomas
  • ‘Galatea’ by Sean Weaver
  • ‘The Fight’ by Nicola West

The award is open to new and emerging writers from universities across Australia and New Zealand who are doing either an undergraduate or an honours degree.

This year’s competition is judged by author Julie Koh, Lifted Brow fiction editor Khalid Warsame and Monash University academic Rebecca Do Rozario.

The winner will be announced on 14 June at the opening of the Emerging Writers’ Festival and will receive $4000. For more information, click here.


Category: Local news