Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Arthur C Clarke Award 2017 shortlist announced

In the UK, the shortlist for the 2017 Arthur C Clarke Award for science-fiction has been announced.

The six shortlisted titles are:

  • A Closed and Common Orbit (Becky Chambers, Hodder)
  • Ninefox Gambit (Yoon Ha Lee, Solaris)
  • After Atlas (Emma Newman, Roc)
  • Occupy Me (Tricia Sullivan, Gollancz)
  • Central Station (Lavie Tidhar, Tachyon Publications)
  • The Underground Railroad (Colson Whitehead, Orbit).

Award director Tom Hunter said the novels on this year’s shortlist are ‘fascinatingly diverse, deeply imaginative and a great tribute to the memory of Sir Arthur as we celebrate the centenary year of his birth in 2017’.

The winner of the prize, which is worth £2017 (A$3495), will be announced on 27 July. The Arthur C Clarke Award is presented annually for the best science-fiction novel published in the UK in the previous calendar year.

The 2016 award was won by Adrian Tchaikovsky for Children of Time (Pan).


Category: International news