Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ngaio Marsh Award 2017 longlist announced

The longlist for the 2017 Ngaio Marsh award for New Zealand crime fiction has been announced.

The longlisted works are:

  • Dead Lemons (Finn Bell, self-published)
  • Pancake Money (Finn Bell, self-published)
  • Spare Me The Truth (C J Carver, Bonnie Zaffre)
  • Red Herring (Jonothan Cullinane, HarperCollins)
  • The Revelations of Carey Ravine (Debra Daley, Quercus)
  • The Three Deaths of Magdalene Lynton (Katherine Hayton, self-published)
  • Presumed Guilty (Mark McGinn, Merlot Publishing)
  • Marshall’s Law (Ben Sanders, A&U)
  • A Straits Settlement (Brian Stoddart, Crime Wave Press)
  • The Last Time We Spoke (Fiona Sussman, Allison & Busby).

A panel of seven crime fiction experts from five countries will choose the shortlist, to be announced alongside the finalists for the best first novel and the inaugural best true-crime book. The winner will be announced at a WORD Christchurch event in October.

For more information, click here.


Category: Local news