Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NT Literary Awards 2017 winners announced

The winners of this year’s Northern Territory Literary Awards have been announced.

The winners in each category are:

Short Story Award

  • ‘This is where you come from’ by Miranda Tetlow

Poetry Award

  • ‘In the soft light of dawn’ by Michael Giacometti

Creative Nonfiction Award

  • ‘Notes from a dying town’ by Kylie Stevenson

Essay Award

  • ‘Poetic Justice: a writer’s response to graffiti in Don Dale’s Youth Detention Centre’ by Adelle Sefton-Rowston

Kath Manzie Youth Award

  • ‘Power Prey’ by Sierra Haigh

Flash Fiction Award

  • ‘Dear Diary’ by Shona Ford

Theatre Award

  • ‘Lured’ by Lee Frank.

The NT Literary Awards celebrate the achievements of a ‘wide range of emerging writers’. The winners were announced at a ceremony at Parliament House on 26 July.

To view the finalists, click here.


Category: Local news