Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Hugo Awards 2017 winners announced

For the second year running, N K Jemisin has won the Best Novel category at the Hugo Awards for science-fiction and fantasy titles.

Jemisin picked up the award for her novel The Obelisk Gate (Orbit), the follow-up to her 2016 Hugo award-winning novel The Fifth Season (Orbit).

Other winners included Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire ( for best novella; ‘The Tomato Thief’ by Ursula Vernon (Apex Magazine, January 2016) for best novelette; and ‘Seasons of Glass and Iron’ by Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales, Saga Press) for best short story.

The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention (WSFS). The presentation ceremony was held at the 75th World Science Fiction Convention in Helsinki, Finland.

See the full list of winners here.


Category: Awards International news