Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

RWA awards 2017 winners announced

The winners of the 2017 Romance Writers of Australia (RWA) Romantic Book of the Year awards, known as the ‘RUBYs’, were announced on 12 August at the RWA conference in Brisbane.

The winners included:

Long romance and romantic book of the year

  • Escaping Mr Right (Avril Tremayne, Random House)

Short romance

  • Breaking Good (Madeline Ash, Tule Publishing)


  • Unexplored (Anna Hackett, self-published)

Romantic elements

  • Numbered (Amy Andrews & Ros Baxter, Harlequin).

The Valerie Parv Award for an unpublished romance novel went to Joanna Nell; the Emerald Award for best unpublished manuscript went to Wendy Lee Davies; and the Emerald Pro Award for the best unpublished manuscript by a published author writing in a new genre went to Diane Demetre.

The Roma Award for Media (ROMA), which recognises professional, positive media coverage of the romance industry, was presented to Hsu-Ming Teo for ‘Love and the Land: Early Australian Rural Romances’, on the Australian Women’s History blog.

For more information about the awards, click here.


Category: Local news