Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ngaio Marsh Award 2017 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2017 Ngaio Marsh Award for New Zealand crime fiction have been announced.

The shortlisted works in each category are:


  • Double-Edged Sword (Simonne Butler & Andra Jenkin, Mary Egan Publishing)
  • The Scene of the Crime (Steve Braunias, HarperCollins)
  • The Many Deaths of Mary Dobie (David Hastings, AUP)
  • Blockbuster! (Lucy Sussex, Text)
  • In Dark Places (Michael Bennett, Paul Little Books)


  • Red Herring (Jonothan Cullinane, HarperCollins)
  • Pancake Money (Finn Bell, self-published)
  • Spare Me The Truth (CJ Carver, Zaffre)
  • Marshall’s Law (Ben Sanders, A&U)
  • The Last Time We Spoke (Fiona Sussman, Allison & Busby)

Best first novel

  • Dead Lemons (Finn Bell, self-published)
  • Red Herring (Jonothan Cullinane, HarperCollins)
  • The Ice Shroud (Gordon Ell, Bush Press)
  • The Student Body (Simon Wyatt, Mary Egan Publishing)
  • Days Are Like Grass (Sue Younger, Eunoia Publishing).

The winners will be announced at a WORD Christchurch event in October.

For more information, click here.


Category: Local news