Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

CBCA Awards 2017 winners announced

The winners of this year’s Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year Awards have been announced.

The winning titles in each of the categories are:

Older readers


  • One Would Think the Deep (Claire Zorn, UQP)

Honour books

  • Words in Deep Blue (Cath Crowley, Macmillan)
  • The Bone Sparrow (Zana Fraillon, Lothian)

Younger readers


  • Rockhopping (Trace Balla, A&U)

Honour books                                  

  • Dragonfly Song (Wendy Orr, A&U)
  • Captain Jimmy Cook Discovers Third Grade (Kate Temple, Jol Temple & John Foye, A&U)

Early childhood


  • Go Home, Cheeky Animals! (Johanna Bell, illus by Dion Beasley, A&U)

Honour books  

  • Nannie Loves (Kylie Dunstan, Working Title Press)
  • Gary (Leila Rudge, Walker Books)

Picture book


  • Home in the Rain (Bob Graham, Walker Books)

Honour books                  

  • Mechanica (Lance Balchin, Five Mile Press)
  • The Patchwork Bike (Maxine Beneba Clarke, illus by Van T Rudd, Lothian)

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books


  • Amazing Animals of Australia’s National Parks (Gina M Newton, NLA Publishing)

Honour books  

  • A-Z of Endangered Animals (Jennifer Cossins, Red Parka Press)
  • The Gigantic Book of Genes (Lorna Hendry, Wild Dog Books)

Crichton Award for Debut Illustrator


  • Van T Rudd for The Patchwork Bike (Maxine Beneba Clarke, Lothian).

To see the shortlisted titles, click here.

This year’s Children’s Book Week runs from 19 to 26 August with the theme ‘Escape to Everywhere’.

For more information about the CBCA Awards and Children’s Book Week, visit the CBCA website here.


Category: Junior Local news