Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Richell Prize 2017 longlist announced

Hachette Australia and the Emerging Writers’ Festival have announced the longlist for the 2017 Richell Prize for emerging writers.

The  longlisted writers and their works are:

  • Michelle Barraclough for ‘As I Am’
  • Meagan Bertram for ‘Trapped’
  • Lucinda Coleman for ‘Windjana’
  • Sam Coley for ‘State Highway One’
  • Miranda Debeljakovic for ‘Waiting for the Sun’
  • Jacquie Garton-Smith for ‘The Taste of Red Dust’
  • Rose Hartley for ‘The Caravan’
  • Diana Jarman for ‘The Philatelist’s Album’
  • Julie Keys for ‘Triptych’
  • Kinch Kinski for ‘Tabula’
  • Carolyn Malkin for ‘The Demon Drink’
  • Fay Patterson for ‘Tinker Tinker’
  • Caitlin Porter for ‘The Pearl Diver’
  • Natasha Rai for ‘Light in Dark Corners’
  • Julie Scanlon for ‘The Other Shade of Black’
  • Stewart Sheargold for ‘Wolf Whistle’
  • Joshua Taylor for ‘The Life and Times of a River’
  • Jacqueline Trott for ‘The Song of River Country’
  • Bronte Winn for ‘Edward’
  • Karen Wyld for ‘Where the Fruit Falls’.

Now in its third year, the Richell Prize was created in memory of former Hachette CEO Matt Richell, who died in 2014.

The judges are author and Richell’s widow Hannah Richell; Emerging Writers’ Festival director Izzy Roberts-Orr; bookseller Amelia Lush; and Hachette publisher Robert Watkins.

The longlist was chosen from 579 entries. Applicants were required to submit the first three chapters and a synopsis of a proposed work of adult fiction or narrative nonfiction, with the winner to receive $10,000 and mentoring from a Hachette publisher to help develop the work to publication.

The shortlist will be announced on 2 October and the winner will be announced in Sydney on 1 October. For more information, click here.


Category: Local news