Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Winners of the 2017 NSW Premier’s History Awards announced

The State Library of NSW (SLNSW) has announced the winners of the 2017 NSW Premier’s History Awards.

The winning works in each category are:

Australian History Prize ($15,000) 

  • From the Edge: Australia’s Lost Histories (Mark McKenna, MUP)

General History Prize ($15,000)

  • Japanese War Criminals: The Politics of Justice after the Second World War (Sandra Wilson, Robert Cribb, Beatrice Trefalt & Dean Aszkielowicz, Columbia University Press)

NSW Community and Regional History Prize ($15,000)

  • Stories from the Sandstone: Quarantine Inscriptions from Australia’s Immigrant Past (Peter Hobbins, Ursula K Frederick & Anne Clarke, Arbon Publishing)

Young People’s History Prize ($15,000)

  • Maralinga’s Long Shadow: Yvonne’s Story (Christobel Mattingley, A&U)

Multimedia History Prize ($15,000)

  • The Amboyna Conspiracy Trial (Adam Clulow, Center for History and New Media, George Mason University).

The winners were announced at an event at SLNSW to launch NSW History Week on 1 September. The winners were chosen from shortlists announced in August.

For more information about the awards, click here.


Category: Local news